Sin Chew Satay Bee Hoon

Published October 28, 2012 by piggie

Note: I dished out the satay sauce in this picture to reveal the ingredients

I absolutely must blog about this one, for this is perhaps the best Satay Bee Hoon I ever tried! On any given day, make a trip down Bukit Timah Hawker Centre along the junction of Upper Bukit Timah Road and Jalan Jurong Kechil, one can easily identify this stall with the longest queue. And I think queue apart, one must be considered lucky to be able to try this, for the stall, Sin Chew Satay Bee Hoon, operates short hours, and closed on Monday & Tuesday. They are only open from 5pm-10.30pm on Wednesday through Friday, but I ever visited around 8.30pm and they were already sold out. Over the weekends, they have additional lunch slot from 12pm-2pm apart from their evening operating hours.

Their ingredients include prawn, cockles, cuttlefish, kangkong, beansprouts, lean pork, tau pok (tofu), all freshly prepared, and I thought I found the tau pok was still reasonably crispy even though I bought it home on some occasions! Their signature peanut gravy is generous but not too thick, with fragrance so appeasing that almost make me drool even before I take a bite. It’s not overly spicy, actually in my standard, I won’t call it spicy at all, yet still blend well with the ingredients to bring out the optimal taste.

Prices starting from $3.50. Sin Chew also sells Cuttlefish Kangkong, but it’s really their Satay Bee Hoon which is extremely popular. Be prepared to queue from 15 – 30 minutes anytime. But no worry, their serving is actually quite prompt if not for the queue.

Sin Chew Satay Bee Hoon
Bukit Timah Hawker Centre Stall 162
Wed – Fri: 5pm – 10.30pm
Sat – Sun: 12pm – 2pm; 5pm – 10pm
Closed on Mon & Tue

Leave a comment