Bali Thai

Published May 29, 2017 by piggie

Thai Honey Chicken Set, $9.80++

I was a little skeptical when I stepped inside Bali Thai, shall I regard this as Thai food? Or do I regard it as Balinese cuisine? Well, it’s actually both.

I wasn’t really a big fan of Balinese cuisines in the first place, but I do like Thai food after a couple of visit there. Naturally, it’s their Thai cuisine I ordered. I was anticipating a blend of sweetness and sourness for the Thai Honey Chicken set I ordered, but it’s just pure sweetness, nothing sour, and somehow I felt the sweetness overdose. The chicken was thinly sliced, crisply coated with flour and fried, complemented with cashew nuts and lettuce as well as a sunny side up. Personally, I feel a tint of sourness could have made it better (or perhaps I should have ordered their Sweet Sour Chicken set instead).

Basil Leaves Minced Chicken/Beef Set, $9.80++

My dining partner, having tried their Thai Honey Chicken set previously, opted to try out their Basil Leaves Minced Chicken set this time round. It is appetising, however, it is also very spicy, to such extend the hotness overpowered almost any other taste, numbing the taste bud and rendered the lettuce, basil etc as good as bland. Solely for those who can take very spicy food, and so to speak, that’s coming from one who can take spicy stuff.

Leave a comment