Enbu 炎舞

Published April 24, 2017 by piggie

It seems like I’m pretty addicted to Eat at Seven of late. Enbu is yet another of Eat at Seven’s element, but probably the most neglected one because of its secluded spot. In fact, it was the very first Eat at Seven restaurant when it opened although its location on roof top almost gives the impression it doesn’t belong to them. Enbu is an izakaya styled restaurant presumably partially related to Tomo Izakaya in Clarke Quay. As such, other than the food, they also carry a wide range of Japanese sake.

What makes Enbu special is their use of charcoal for grilling, or more impressively, straw-grill (warayaki). They claim to be the first (and probably only) restaurant in Singapore doing so.

Enbu Grilled Original Chicken Pattie with Ponzu Sauce, $15++

I must have left my spectacle at home when I read their menu but missing out on the straw-grilled items, anyway, I ordered Enbu Grill Original Chicken Pattie with Ponzu Sauce. The meal came with refillable tea, miso soup, a salad (if I remember correctly, I believe it’s avocado salad), and the main course. In my opinion, the Ponzu sauce definitely makes the meal more appetising. In fact, I have to credit them for the seamless effort in their presentation, which truly makes the main course such a fine piece of art!

Enbu Grilled Original Chicken Pattie with Half Boiled Egg, $15++

Their Enbu Grilled Original Chicken Pattie with Half Boiled Egg is just as impressive. Japanese love to stir egg yolk onto their rice, which gives a sweeter taste overall.

The above items are only available during lunch hours, but come during the night, I assure you the restaurant ambiance will be simply exceptional!

During my visit, JCB card holders are entitled to 1-for-1 promotion (until Jun 2017) on selected items. It’s actually quite worth it!

2nd Visit

Well, now that I learned Enbu is actually well-known for their straw-grill cuisines, what I intend to order for my return visit is pretty straightforward, one of the straw-grilled items on their menu!

P_20170501_133303-Straw_Flame_Grilled_Chicken_with_Teriyaki_Sauce

Straw frame Grilled Chicken with Teriyaki Sauce, $14++

I ordered Straw frame Grilled chicken with Teriyaki Sauce. I must confess I have never tasted anything straw-grilled before, as such, I have totally zero idea how it would taste like, but full of anticipation. To be honest, I found straw-grill pretty much a gimmick, it’s quite unlike charcoal-grill where one can virtually smell the difference, though I do find the chicken delicious. And as before, Enbu’s presentation is awesome! In fact, take away the somewhat distracting term ‘straw-grill’, and this meal excel on its own right, with Teriyaki sauce of adequate sweetness that doesn’t take away any spotlight from the chicken.

P_20170501_133314-Spicy_Straw-Fire_Grill_Chicken

Spicy Straw-Fire Grilled Chicken, $14++

On appearance, there seems to be no significant difference between this order and that I elaborated previously. It was suppose to be spicy, somehow I don’t find it so. Again, I couldn’t tell of any straw-grill aroma.

P_20170501_132356-Mixed_Diced_Sashimi_on_rice_with_Yuzu_Pepper_Sauce

Mixed Diced Sashimi on Rice, with Yuzu Pepper Sauce, $17.50++

This is basically Kaisen-don (seafood rice), and the seafood sashimi are fresh and flavourful, and the Yuzu Pepper Sauce is delightful!

Enbu 炎舞
3 Temasek Boulevard #03-307
Suntec City Mall
Singapore 038983
Tel: +65 62688043

Opening Hours:
11:30hr – 15:00hr,
17:30hr – 23:00hr

Leave a Reply

