Chabuton

Published June 24, 2016 by piggie
Chabuton

Yoruton Ramen, $12.90++

When Chabuton came to Singapore, there were so much fanfare about it being the first Michelin-starred ramen in the world (better known as MIST in Hong Kong), that ramen enthusiasts in Singapore were all tempted to try, yours truly inclusive. I finally tried it at their Millenia Walk outlet on a weekday afternoon.

Chabuton’s Yoruton ramen is a spicy challenge, with a level ranging from 1 to 5. My friend and I ordered a level 3 and 4 respectively, but somehow, when the order were served, we were given level 2 and 3 instead. No issue, we didn’t want to make a fuss about it. But perhaps it was a blessing in disguise that the mistake was made, as I found level 3 already too much for my liking. Actually upon ordering, I expressed my concern to the waitress that it was my maiden visit, and I don’t know my spicy level. She was kind enough to instruct the kitchen to serve the chili paste on a separate plate, so we can add it ourselves until the level we can take. I added mine to a level of around 2.75, I could have attempted level 3, no problem, but I ain’t desperate to test my endurance level. It was ramen I want, not chili. That somewhat reminds me of the Japanese drama “Ramen Daisuki Koizumi-san” (ラーメン大好き小泉さん), the high school girl who attempted level 5 from ramen shop 蒙古タンメン中本(Episode 2), where she ordered a level 5! Anyway, it’s different ramen restaurant, but I didn’t intend to emulate her. LOL! OK, back to the ramen here. It’s my habit to try the broth first before adding all sort of spices. Chabuton’s Yoruton base tonkotsu broth is sweet and filled with sesame, there’s plenty of leek as well as one large piece of charshu. The broth is exceptionally sweet! I have tried many tonkotsu broth before, even in Japan, but I hardly find one this tasty. Surely there must be some secret recipe? Sesame? Search me! As for the charshu, it was tender and chewy, I could hardly fault the ramen at all.

SimplyHer_ChabutonAnyway, I got a 1 for 1 offer on Chabuton Yoruton ramen from Simply Her magazine (right, valid until 30 Jun 2016, soft or hard copy will do) and decided to try them out. Frankly speaking, Singapore’s ramen prices is vastly bloated and many charges almost double that from Japan, at a time when ¥ was 100 against S$1.15 (2015 rates), some ramen outlets claimed they imported their ingredients from Japan, OK, fine. But for those who aren’t, I don’t think their quality, man hour, rental etc, match those from Japan, yet they jumped into the bandwagon of price range that genuine Japanese restaurants are charging, that probably explain the blooming of ramen scene in Singapore… profits! I can’t tell which of them are genuine or not, as such, I regularly wait for ramen offer before patronising (but there are exception of course).

Chabuton claimed they imported their ingredients from Japan, OR “sourced/produced by specially appointed companies by the Japanese headquarter team.” Smart words.

But hold on a second, there is something strange here, as I understand that Chef Yasuji Morizumi earned the Michelin star via his Hong Kong outlet, not his origin Japan. This is unusual because Japan is particularly on top of world gourmet scene, probably already surpassing France where Michelin guide originated from. And normally, a franchise or branch is unlikely to be better than the origin restaurant, more so for Chabuton because they are really ‘new kid on the block’ with a history of merely 11 years, an infant in the eyes of many notable ramen giants there, so what makes it outstanding from the rest? Now, let me briefly elaborate what the three stars in Michelin guide means:

1 Michelin star: “A very good restaurant in its category” (Une très bonne table dans sa catégorie)
2 Michelin stars: “Excellent cooking, worth a detour” (Table excellent, mérite un détour)
3 Michelin stars: “Exceptional cuisine, worth a special journey” (Une des meilleures tables, vaut le voyage).

Chabuton started in Chiba, close to, but not in traditional ramen battle zone Tokyo. I don’t believe that none of the ramen power house in Japan doesn’t deserve at least a single Michelin star. Hence the logical explanation is, there was different standard between the Japan and Hong Kong Michelin teams. That’s a side talk, anyway, my primitive experience with Chabuton is good!

Leave a Reply

