Hill Street Fried Kway Teow

Published May 31, 2016 by piggie

Hill_Street-20160527_153403

It has been more than a decade since I last patronise them at their Hill Street premise (hence the name), and I don’t know how many times have they shifted ever since. Their current location at Bedok South is not really a convenient location for me to ‘stop over’ for a bite, as it’s some distance away from MRT station. However, it seems destine I’m returning after a long decade, as I have some business to do at a nearby industry park, I simply walk over specifically for it!

I was there around 3.15pm on a weekday, that kind of time when most hawkers will be sneaking for a break in-between hectic meal hours, and one naturally don’t expect a long queue there. Not for this stall. There was a queue of around 8 patrons before me, and I ended up queueing for roughly 20 minutes. Good thing I have my iPad.

With prices from $3.50 nowadays, I can’t say it’s cheap for hawker center food (having said that, there’s a hike in cockle price recently though), especially the surrounding are residential area and industrial park. However, the quality is there, though I can’t tell whether it’s as good as before. The ingredients consist of sliced sausage, cockles, egg, all in adequate portion, unlike many other hawker stall’s chay kway teow these days where they simply drop sausage totally or merely having an unmeaningful quantity. Hill Street Fried Kway Teow has a very delicate balance of oil and taste, along with just the right degree of sweetness which render their Kway Teow one of the best in Singapore, and rightly so. I guess that somewhat justify their price.

Hill Street Fried Kway Teow
Block 16 Bedok South Road #01-41
Bedok South Market and Food Centre
Singapore 460016
Tel: +65 90421312

 

Leave a Reply

