SIAM KITCHEN

Published March 13, 2016 by piggie
Pineapple Fried Rice with Seafood, $10.90++

Pineapple Fried Rice with Seafood, $10.90++

I wasn’t really a Thai cuisine fanatic until I visited Thailand for the 3rd time back in 2013, when I tried some truly authentic dishes in Chiang Mai night market. That was when I realised whatever I tasted prior had been at best, pretenders (Yes, even from Bangkok). Since then, I knew what to expect of Thai cuisines. I’m not against evolution, but the basic principle has always been, the elementary ingredients must be used to retain the basic flavor. Many restaurants got the first part right, but failed miserably in taste. How they survive really puzzled me.

But I found out today, Siam Kitchen happens to be one of the better Thai restaurant chains, even though I only tried their rice dishes, but that is enough to convince me for a return.

From first look, their Pineapple Fried Rice with Seafood appears mediocre, with sliced onions, cashew nuts, a piece of cucumber, and a slice of lime by the side of the rice ball. I have to confess I was a little disappointed with the outlook when the rice was served. But my opinion changed as I sliced open the rice ball. Inside, was a generous serving of cuttlefish, two large prawns, and of course, egg. I wish they could include pork floss too, but the restaurant is halal certified (perhaps they can try using chicken floss?). I feel the fried rice could have tasted better had the rice been more oily, but of course, it’s a balance between healthier food or tastier food, and I guess the restaurant chose to be on the healthier side.

Tom Yum Fried Rice with Seafood, $11.50++

Tom Yum Fried Rice with Seafood, $11.50++

Appearance wise, their Tom Yum Fried Rice with Seafood barely looks much different from Pineapple Fried Rice, but the cashew nuts are replaced with chili slice and chili sauce. The fried rice, however, tasted much better, with lemongrass and galangal flavor richly infused inside, along with cuttlefish, two large prawns, and mushrooms. The chili was not as hot as I expected by the way. Besides that, I would have preferred this one personally.

My favourite Thai cuisine remains Phad Thai. Though I didn’t try this time, I guess I will come back for it, for their pictures in the menu looks rather tantalising!

Leave a comment