Ramen Dining Keisuke Tokyo

Published September 17, 2013 by piggie

My last ramen adventure was more than a month ago, in New York’s Brooklyn. And today, I suddenly have an urge for some Japanese vaccine. In recognition of Japanese Restaurant Week in Singapore (JRWSG), I decided to pay a visit to Keisuke Takeda’s outlet in Millenia Walk, Ramen Dining Keisuke Tokyo.

It was a quiet Monday evening, and I suppose Ramen Dining Keisuke Tokyo’s location in the deep corner of Parco @ Millenia Walk didn’t do much help, there were only a handful of diners as I entered the restaurant.

I had made up my mind to try their Watarikani Ramen ($13.80++), something unique in the local ramen scene. I was promptly shown the menu and an order slip, on which I was given the option to select the flavour level of the broth, amount of onion/chicken oil, as well as noodle’s texture. I selected everything as normal, and it took slightly more than 10 minutes for my ramen to be served.

Wakarikani Ramen ($13.80++)

Watarikani Ramen ($13.80++)

The ramen looked pretty normal, and no, no crab meat actually (please, look at the price, and one has to be sensible to expect any crab meat in the ramen, let alone Japanese crabs, and Keisuke didn’t want to deceive customers with fake crab stick like Bishamon did), just the usual suspects of charshu, leek, bamboo shoot, seaweed, chikuwa, and some ‘mysterious’ red ‘straws’ which I couldn’t identify, minus the flavoured egg though (add $2++). But the star of the noodle got to be its broth. I didn’t want to add any seasoning prior to trying it ‘raw’, and found it to be reasonably thick, with a good flavour of crab & chicken stock. To quote from the official source: The fragrant crab-based broth of Kani (Crab) Ramen is created from an elaborate cooking philosophy where crabs are first being pan-fried and crushed, then fried with onions and carrots, before being simmered with chicken stock. Ramen Dining Keisuke Tokyo was using the medium flat noodle, and it was rather attentive of them to let patrons choose the level of noodle between soft and extreme hard, as well as the thickness of the broth etc. So that returning patrons will know in their subsequent visits, what would be their preference. Such system will at least garner them an addition chance to appease patrons should they found their preliminary visit less than satisfactory. One notable observation, Ramen Dining Keisuke Tokyo offered freeflow of marinated bean sprouts and bonito flakes (more of powder instead of flakes actually) on the table, which I added aplenty into my noodle without the slightest hesitation and found my broth to be more adventurous! And I really believe this would be how a noodle is define! Quite frankly, I didn’t have good impression on generic Tokyo ramen, I found them lacked identity in comparison to Hokkaido & Kyushu. But I have to admit Keisuke Takeda (its Japanese owner and a genuine Tokyo Ramen Champion. And don’t listen to what Koji Tashiro and his Ramen franchise claimed, some of them might be good, but some are plain mediocre) completely altered my opinion. He has 4 outlets in Singapore, and each serving signature type of ramen distinctly associated with the branch, and yeah, I was kind off attracted simply by the creativity of his ramen, simply waiting for an opportunity to try out more of his innovations now that I had my first taste of Keisuke’s. It’s that good, that I didn’t feel a thirst for water after leaving the restaurant, with a strong crab and benito aftertaste for the next hour or so.

I have to feel appreciated, if I understand correctly, Keisuke Takeda started his first oversea venture in Singapore, many ramen addicts in Hong Kong and Taiwan don’t have such privilege.

Currently, Keisuke’s franchise is offering 7% discount to all patrons who register and show the offer coupon from this site. You’ll get 7% discount right away and no need such nonsense as subsequent visit kind of thing. For their price (and with such discount in mind), I would say it’s food at great value!

http://keisuke.sg/

Ramen Dining Keisuke Tokyo
9 Raffles Boulevard, Millenia Walk
#P3-02 Parco Marina Bay
Singapore 039596
Tel: 63377919
Weekday Lunch: 11:30HR ~ 15:00HR
Weekday Dinner: 17:30HR ~ 22:00HR
Weekend/Public Holiday: 11:00HR ~ 22:00HR

Ramen Dining Keisuke Tokyo has since ceased its operation in Millenia Walk, and has since re-located to Suntec City.

One comment on “Ramen Dining Keisuke Tokyo

Leave a Reply

