Fast Food For Thought

Published June 6, 2013 by piggie

I was torn between ordering a House Works or Pancakes from Food For Thought prior to reaching, but was really surprise to find them had a face lift when I arrived, with the word ‘Fast’ in front of their previous name. But that ain’t got anything to do with the movie Fast and Furious 6 (which shown in cinema recently) I bet. As a matter of fact, they now have a new restaurant at the National Museum nearby, so they converted the current outlet at 8 Queen Street into sort of a fast food restaurant, with a new menu of course. Consider myself lucky I didn’t come in May during their simple renovation. And so, initially I intended to dump this review as an update to my previous post, I now have to create new.

ffft-menuAs a fast food restaurant, their prices is slightly higher than those conventional giants, but their quality can be justified, at least for what I ordered, not unlike certain food court owned fast food chain that offers burger sets at restaurant price but only giving their trademark food court ambience with mediocre quality. Basically, burgers are Fast Food for Thought’s only main dish now, with options including pork, fish, chicken, lamb, and beef.

I ordered a Slow-Roasted Pulled Pork set meal at $12, which included fries and a soft drink. For a-la-carte order, the burger alone cost $8.50, but it is strange they are charging for the barbecue sauce, which cost $1.50, if I understand correctly. Chili and tomato sauce, on the other hand, are freely available at the counter. However, it’s a good thing they don’t charge for service & GST, it’s self-service throughout after all.

Slow-Roasted Pulled Pork Set ($12)

Slow-Roasted Pulled Pork Set ($12)

In a quiet afternoon, my order was served reasonably prompt. The burger and fries came in a big paper platter with a small dish of barbecue sauce, something typical in a fast food restaurant. I like the fries, which came in rich flour crumb and mildly salted, crisply fried on the outside until golden colour while retaining the softness within. Nothing special about the barbecue sauce though, search me why they would charge a ransom over it had I ordered a-la-carte. The utensil came in plastic, it was then pretty obvious they would be saving the trouble of washing them after every use. I thought Food For Thought was socially responsible? They brag about noble social causes on their web portal and now they are going against their own ideology? I can understand they wanted to save manpower, I wasn’t sure, but I thought they could have done it in a different light, such as encouraging people to wash their own utensil as a breakthrough approach, and reward them with a drink or ice cream voucher or something..??

Anyway, I get drifted too far from the food, my apologise, I often get carried away when it comes to environmental consciousness 😛 Let’s get back to the burger! It came with sesame bun, roasted sweet potato, creamy wong bok slaw with citrus juice, and roasted pork, not sure whether I can call it a patty, as it was painstakingly hand-pulled into shredded form, making it visually more appealing, and tastier too, although on a person note, I still prefer the fried pork patty as in Macau’s Pork Chop Bun. Nevertheless, hard work, and I appreciate that! I felt the sweet potato was an oversight. Perhaps to add a tint of sweetness to the pork, but I don’t find it blend well in a burger, not to mention there was already a fair amount of fries, it only made the meal more filling than I expected to. The salad was, at least commendable. But it was challenging eating the burger with hands, as the filling were generous and reasonably thick, what with those ingredients inside were not easily compactible, not to mention the bun at the bottom was half-soaked by the salad sauce that I had to eat the burger flipping it over. After the meal, my hands got stained all over and wasted quite a few pieces of serviette, LOL!

fast Food for Thought
8 Queen Street
Singapore 188535
Opening Hours: Tue – Sun, 11am – 7pm

I couldn’t find their phone number, on mentioning that, I suddenly recall seeing a very antique phone there, which I bet those borned after the 80s will probably never used one before, it’s those nostalgic dial phone, not the number pad type!

Leave a Reply

