The Disgruntled Chef

Published November 13, 2012 by piggie

Complimentary from Tangs who is celebrating its 80th Anniversary this year, I have wonderful memories of this humble eatery well hidden inside the luscious green of Dempsey Hill. The Disgruntled Chef (TDC) isn’t easy to locate if it’s your first visit. I didn’t see any obvious signboard near its premise down a gentle slope with its door facing the inside of the green, and it’s easy to overlook it and proceed all the way in towards Long Beach Seafood Restaurant.

Al fresco area of The Disgruntled Chef

However, once you spotted this al fresco dining area of TDC, you are on the right track. The restaurant was set to offer a fine dining in a casual atmosphere helmed by award-winning chef Daniel Sia, who basically done away with the formality of the starter, main course and dessert, replacing them with simply small plates and large plates concepts, catering to its principle of a truly casual dining experience.

Indoor bar area: A good variety of wines & liquor to go with your orders

Indoor dining area: Tables were specially reset to cater for our dining group

Group enclaved seatings

We were promptly served coffee or tea prior to the start of the feast, of course, this may not be the standard practice for walk-in patrons. It was a drizzling Saturday noon, when they just began their normal operating hour, as such, the restaurant was pretty empty except for the staffs and invited guests. However, as it progressed, walk-in guests had to settled for al fresco dining when the restaurant was filled, with many of them Caucasians. By then, of course, drizzling had ceased. At such secluded spot, I suppose there must be some food worth craving for, to have such volume of patrons, although as a matter of fact, we easily made up half the capacity.

Mini Eggs Benedict with Toasted Brioche & Serrano Ham

The first dish on our table was a shared entree, Mini Eggs Benedict with Toasted Brioche & Serrano Ham. I love this entree, it’s a symphony of three very different texture in crisp, moist, and chewy, where the sweetness of the egg nicely complement the slight salty Serrano ham, and any overdone sweetness were further neutralise by the lightly toasted brioche, brilliant!

Patatas Bravas with Chorizo and Fried Quail Eggs

Patatas Bravas is a signature Spanish dish typically served as tapa in bars, which is practically fried white potatoes, while Chorizo is actually Spanish pork sausages. The potatoes were faultlessly fried into thin crispy on the outside while retaining the usual sweet inner texture. I didn’t find the Chorizo remarkable though.

Baby Spinach Salad with Grilled Eggplant & Marinated Egg

Ooh! More egg… albeit this time offering in a slightly different dimension. The salad was tasty, with fresh green decorating throughout. I won’t call it outstanding, but at least nothing I could penalise that is.

Crispy Lamb Shortribs served with Mint Yogurt

I confess I am not a mutton lover, in fact very far from it. I hate that unbearable mutton odour, but TDC actually made these ribs looked appealing, at least the smell was not noticeable on the table. But the taste of the mutton was obvious upon consuming, I assumed the Mint Yogurt was there to neutralise it, but somehow it was too mild and sparse in my opinion. Perhaps mutton lovers would love it, but for me, no more next time! LOL!

Crayfish Macaroni & Cheese

Oh mine… I never knew macaroni can taste this good! That about summed up my view on this entree, with macaroni coated in my favourite cheese and the crayfish really spiced up the dish. Simply awesome!

Oven Baked Miso Cod served with Baby Spinach & Sauteed Mushrooms

Now the main course.. (regardless how they named it, but this was one dish we didn’t have to share!) We were given an option between Grilled Rump Steak served with Asparagus & Sauce Bearnaise and Oven Baked Miso Cod served with Baby Spinach & Sauteed Mushrooms, as I am not beef eater, naturally, I chose this.

It can be seen that the Spinach were carefully selected, fresh and almost faultless, while the cod was thoughtfully grilled until only a thin grill mark on its surface while not deterring the soft texture of the cod, retaining its essential natural sweetness. Ooh… perfect!

French Toast with Banana Mascarpone & Dulce De Leche

The dessert came in the form of share plates again, and I was delighted to have 3 different types of desserts to savour, even that may mean a little bit of each, but that was fine for me, as I viewed it as more of sampling in view of a subsequent visit. So, first on the table was this French Toast with Banana Mascarpone & Dulce de Leche. The half-crisp toast was adequately sweet, but I was phobia of banana so I didn’t dip the Banana Mascarpone.

Sticky Toffee Pudding with Vanilla Ice Cream

This Sticky Toffee Pudding with Vanilla Ice Cream was my favourite! I have a sweet tooth, and sweet stuff such as pastries are my weak spot. So the rich taste of the pudding really thrilled me to the bone! Perhaps I should have tried the ice cream first, because after the pudding, I thought I found the ice cream tasted a little bland. Blame it on my irresistibility on the pudding.

Rhubarb & Apple Crumble with Clotted Cream

The final entree, another sweetie, all I can say is, the clotted cream was a marvelous compliment to the rhubarb. But by then, I was probably already too full to appreciate this dessert.

Throughout the session, we were served wine, which I chose a rogue to go with my meal. They served me a Como Estate Margaret River 2010, which was smooth and fruity, pretty good!

I notice some of the dishes on the table could not be found on their menu. I guess that’s the privilege of being in a private catering. Overall, I found dining here a very enjoyable experience. I won’t say the price is affordable, but they do have 2 course meal from $24++, although I don’t know whether it will be available over weekends or holidays.

The Disgruntled Chef
26B DEMPSEY ROAD
SINGAPORE 247693
T: +65 6476 5305
F: +65 6476 5306
E: BOOKINGS@DISGRUNTLEDCHEF.COM
URL: http://www.disgruntledchef.com/

OPENING HOURS (LAST ORDERS):
TUESDAY TO THURSDAY – LUNCH 12PM – 2:30PM / DINNER 6PM – 10:30PM
FRIDAY & SATURDAY – LUNCH 12PM – 2:30PM / DINNER 6PM – 11:30PM
SUNDAY – LUNCH 12PM – 4:30PM / DINNER 6PM – 10:30PM
THE BRUNCH MENU IS AVAILABLE SATURDAY & SUNDAY
CLOSED MONDAYS

Leave a Reply

